Thursday, February 18, 2010

FPInfomart Student-to-Conference Awards

SLA Toronto has partnered once again with FPInfomart to establish the FPInfomart Student-to-Conference Awards. With FPInfomart's generous support, two students will be chosen to attend the SLA Annual Conference in New Orleans, Louisiana, from June 13-16, 2010.

"Annual Conference is an invaluable experience as a forum for professional development. Beyond enjoying the convivial environs of 'The Big Easy' the winners of this award will also benefit immensely by the endless opportunities to network with information professionals from around the world," says Claire Lysnes, SLA Toronto President.

"The Student-to-Conference Award program is an effort to identify and encourage students who will make a difference in their profession," says Warren Cable, Vice President of FPInfomart. "FPInfomart is proud to participate again this year and we remain committed to supporting the professional development of students by recognizing the importance of attending SLA's conference," continued Cable.

Two students will be selected to receive a $1,500 award by the SLA Toronto Executive Board. Applicants must be willing to serve on the Executive or Advisory Board of the Toronto Chapter in the 2011 Chapter year and the winning essays will be published in The Courier, SLA Toronto's quarterly newsletter.

  • Applicants must be currently enrolled in an accredited library or information science program during the 2009/10 academic school year and be interested in a career in special librarianship.
  • The recipients may not accept a travel award for the 2010 conference from any other SLA Division or Chapter.

Application Procedure
  • Applicants must prepare a written statement, in English, of up to 500 words on what they hope to gain from the conference experience.
  • Applicants must also provide a current résumé.
  • Applicants should submit these two documents, along with their address, telephone number, and email address no later than 5 p.m. on March 16, 2010 to Daniel Lee, Awards Chair (danielplee @
Recent Winners

Bruce Harpham and Kate MacDonald

Gillian Horwood and Julia Brewster