Monday, January 25, 2010

Another Stipend!


The S. Kirk Cabeen Travel Stipend Award is offered to a library school student or first time conference attendee. This $750 award is to be used toward expenses of attending the SLA Annual Conference in New Orleans, LA, USA June 13-16, 2010.

QUALIFICATIONS: Be a library school student or first time attendee; be a current member of SLA, preference going to Science-Technology Division members; if NOT a student, then must be attending his or her first SLA conference;

NOMINATIONS: Self-nominations are encouraged.

Send a typed and signed document including complete title, Library School and anticipated graduation date, employer, and all professional and personal contact information.

All nominations must also include the following:

A short essay (500 words or less) on the theme of the 2010 Annual Conference: “Entering SLA's Next Century: Let the Good Times Roll!” The essay should be double-spaced. Neatness, spelling and grammar will count in judging. Supporting documentation must include a current curriculum vita OR resume for the candidate, significant publications, supporting letters, etc.

Applications should also mention if you are currently applying for other SLA division awards.


Nominations and all accompanying materials should be sent to Sheila Rosenthal, Chair of the Sci-Tech Division Awards Committee, at the following email address:

  1. Recipient (s) will write a brief article (approximately 1,000 words) on the conference experience for the November 2010 Sci-Tech News.
  2. Recipient (s) will be asked to serve on the Science-Technology Division Awards Committee in the following year to provide for the continuity and enthusiasm of the awards.

  1. Applicants will receive notification of award status by mid March 2010. The award checks will be sent to the recipient as soon as the receipts are received by the Awards Chairperson.
  2. The recipients’ names will be posted to the Science-Technology Division’s Web site
  3. The award will be announced and presented to the recipient at the Science-Technology Division’s Annual Business meeting/breakfast